Payback Porter: Speak Easy Ales and Lagers

Posted: May 4, 2013 in Uncategorized
Tags: , , , , ,

I know that it has been a while since I have posted a review but I’m back at it. The next beer that I’m going to review is one of the best Porter’s that I have had. This beer is called the Payback Porter and is brewed by Speak Easy Ales and Lagers. This brewery is based out of San Fransisco, Ca.

The first thing I noticed when I got this beer was the bottle that it come in. It really caught my attention and goes to show how important it is to have a great bottle for great beer. Then when you pour this beer into a glass you will notice that it pours to a very dark brown with a great head that will sustain itself for a long time. Then you will catch the aromas of the sweet chocolate mixed with the hops. When you take that first sip you will notice several different things. Tge first layer to this beer is the sweetness of the roasted malts. The roasted malts will give this beer the taste of sweet chocolate, cocoa and caramel. As you get to the back and of the beer you will get the bitterness of the hops.

This beer is also a great beer because it goes with so many different foods. My favorite thing to pair this beer with is BBQ. The smokiness of the BBQ will really compliment this beer to its fullest extent. However, this beer also goes great with a few different types of cheeses as well. The best cheese to have with this beer are Brie, Gouda, Havarti and swiss. If you want to have this beer after your meal, you can do that to because of this chocolate and caramel flavors in this beer, it makes a great desert beer.

I encourage you all to try this beer and hope you like it as much as I did.

 

 

IMAG0804

 

 

Leave a Reply

