Ballast Point: Sculpin IPA

Posted: October 13, 2013 in Uncategorized
Tags: , , , ,

Last night my family and I had a little get together with some friends of ours, so I thought it would be a great time to try a few different beers. The first one that I tried was the Sculpin IPA by Ballast Point. This is another beer by one of the best breweries located in Southern California.

Anyway, this beer is more than I ever expected it to be. When you first open this beer you can smell the hops within this beer. This being an IPA you would not expect anything less. As far as the IBU scale I would say this beer falls around the 70 to 75 mark, meaning thst the bitterness of the beer is very noticeable. However, that is not all that you get out of this beer. From the first sip of this beer you can notice several different flavors. Some of those flavors are peach, mango, citrus and apricot. Some if these are more influential to this beer but non of these are the main flavor of the beer. They add a nice touch to help balance out the hoppiness of this beer.

This beer went very well with the food that we ate last night as well but went exceptionally well with the cheeses such as the pepper jack. This beer will also well with meats, seafood and other fish. This beer is 7% ABU and like I said before, about a 70 on tge IBU scale. I also recommend that you let tge beer warm until 45 degrees before you drink it and doing this will give you all the flavors in this beer.

image

Comments
  1. Laurie says:

    This is a good IPA and I found that some of my typically non IPA drinking friends actually like it too. Win win for me if I can order a pitcher of IPA! 🙂

Leave a Reply

