Lagunitas: Wilco Tango Foxtrot

Posted: February 22, 2013 in beer
Tags: , , , , , ,

There is nothing like going home from a hard days work to enjoy and nice home cooked meal with a cold beer.ii Yesterday was just one of those days that happen every so often, where everyone you run into, or talk to has an attitude. Well by the end of the day I was just about tired of the bad attitudes that everyone had. That is when I got text from my wife saying that she was making dinner and to hurry home. So being the day was almost over  I knew that I didn’t have to wait long and my day seemed to get a lot better knowing I had dinner waiting for me.

As I have started the journey of trying to find the best beer my wife has occasionally came along and helped out. She will try one of the beers that I get and tell me what she thinks of it. Having that outside opinion can either help or hurt when trying to find the best because of differing opinions. With that said, there was not only dinner but there was also a beer waiting for me as well. My wife decided that it was her turn to pick out what she thought was a great beer to do a review on for you all of the readers.

The beer that she chose was a great choice. It is brewed by Lagunitas Brewing Company. Lagunitas Brewing Company is located in Petaluma, CA and has been in business sinc 1993. The founders of the brewing company come from all over the country but they all have one thing in common. That one thing that they all have is the desire to create and brew great beer. The beer that my wife picked out for me to review is called Wilco Tango Foxtrot.

What is the Wilco Tango Foxtrot? To start off with, the Wilco Tango Foxtrot is a seasonal beer that began to be available this month. They label the beer as an Imperial Brown Ale.  This beer is the perfect combination of malts and hops that one could combine in one bottle. When you pour this beer it pours to a clear dark amber color. Once it is poured you can immediately smell the sweetness of the malts and the floral aroma of the hops.  The when you take your first sip it is what you expect after smelling the aromas of the beer. You taste the the sweetness of the malts, toffee and caramel, the sweetness is followed by the bitterness of the hops.  If I were to scale this beer using the IBU system I would rate this beer as somewhere between 60 and 65, meaning that the bitterness is rather noticeable. Even though it is rather bitter this beer has a smooth / creamy feeling as you take a sip making it that more enjoyable to drink.

When drinking this beer I can recommend that you drink it will its between 50 and 55 degrees F. A good pairing with this beer is any one of the following cheeses:  Asiago, Colby or Parmesan. If your are looking for a glass to serve this in a great glass would be the snifter glass. This glass is designed to hold in the aromas of the beer and allow the drinker to easily distinguish different aromas that the beer gives off.

image

Comments

Leave a comment